

Final Report QU Faculty Senate- Second Cycle 2009- 2012

1. Senate Elections:

Senate elections for the second cycle took place in March 2010 and the result was endorsed by Qatar University VP CAO as well as by Head of Elections Committee.

Names of Senate members in its second cycle:

1	Dr. Abdul Hakim Rizk	14	Dr. Huma Ibrahim
2	Dr. Abdul jabbar Saeed	15	Dr. Khalid Mohamed Al-Horr
3	Dr. Adil Makkiya	16	Dr. Mahmoud Al-Ashiri
4	Dr. Ali Abdulhadi Al-Shawi	17	Prof. Nassra Al- Banai
5	Dr. Basher Saad Ragab	18	Dr. Nedham Abdul Kareem
6	Dr. Duha Ali Al-Kuwari	19	Dr. Rabee'a Sabah Al-Kwari
7	Dr. Fatima Al-Suwaidi	20	Dr.Rajab Abdulla Al-Esmail
8	Dr. Fuad Khalil Al-Mahanadi	21	Dr. Rashid Alammari
9	Dr.Hamad Al- Saad	22	Dr. Sebti Foufou
10	Dr.Hassan Yachou	23	Dr. Shafi Al Hajri
11	Dr. Hatem Jalal Ibrahim	24	Dr.Taef Azhari
12	Dr. Hisham Eid	25	Dr. Walied Hazim Sharif
13	Dr.Hoda Basheer		

2. Senate meetings

Senate meetings can be summarized as follows:

- 4 meetings during the academic year 2009-2010
- 8 meetings during the academic year 2010 2011
- 3 meetings during the academic year 2011-2012

3. Issues discussed:

Senate members discussed a number of policies and academic issues that touch upon University business. Those issues were either raised by members or referred to the Senate by Office of Qatar University VP CAO.

Senate hosted QU high officials including:

Qatar University President Prof Sheikha Bint Abdullah Al Misnad

Qatar University VP CAO Prof Sheikha Bint jabor Al Thani

Qatar University VP CFO Dr Humaid Al Midf'aa

Qatar University VP for Student Affairs Dr Omar Al Ansari

Secretary of QU Board of Regents Prof Abdul Aziz Bayyoomi

Attached hereto are copies of minutes of meetings of All Senate meetings held during the period 2009- 2012. They can also be accessed through Senate Web site.

4. Senate Committees:

Four committees were set up in order to discuss respective proposals and policies in connection with University business. Committees enhanced Senate role as an advisory body to QU top management.

- Faculty Affairs Committee
- Academic Affairs Committee
- Research Committee
- Public Relations Committee

Senate Chair Dr. Rabee'a Al Kwari